Visiting a Mosque and Bringing Legal Documents with Me

Well I found some nifty PDF’s of the release forms one would sign to give permission to the filmmaker to use the interview so they couldn’t sue later.  The trick, I’d imagine, is to get them to sign it before the interview, especially if the subject is religion.  I mean how could they interview a Christian preacher or Muslim without eventually getting around to obvious questions such as “do you consider women to be a lower class than men?” or “what do you think about the recent Pride March in our town?”  You know, stuff that would probably piss them off.  Not that they’re trying to be “controversial,” but again you can’t really talk about religion meaningfully without the hard questions.  Otherwise it’s just what I call Religiasturbating.

I’m heading to the Mosque with Kyle and Nathan Friday.  Out of interest and to maybe mention a documentary, see if anyone’s interested.  I’ m really hoping they are because as far as I know that’s the only mosque in this town.  I could ask about 100 christian churches for an interview and if they all said no I’d still have about 4,000 others I could try.  So I’m not really worried about that.  I’ll tell you all about the trip over the weekend (I may have to make the Friday update tomorrow since most of my time will be taken up Friday.) I realize the whole blog schedule, or blogchedule, has been fucked up this week.  My bad.  Anyways look for the Friday update tomorrow instead.  Here’s that release form for posterity:

VIDEO DOCUMENTARY INTERVIEW RELEASE FORM

My signature below will confirm my agreement with filmmakers/photographers, _____________________________, and their legal representatives regarding the disposition of video documentary and photographs of interviews conducted with me, ___________________, on (date) ____________ for ______________________________   (title of project).

I understand that the tapes both of me and, if applicable, my property at ________________________________________, and transcripts (if transcribed) of the interview(s) will be maintained and made available indefinitely by the filmmakers/photographers for such research, production (e.g., radio, television, film festivals, World Wide Web, exhibitions, related advertisements), and educational purposes as the filmmakers/photographers shall determine.

I hereby grant, and transfer to the filmmakers/photographers all rights, title, and interest in the interview and video documentary, including without limitation the literary rights and the copyright. I hereby release filmmaker/photographer, her legal representatives and assigns, and SUNY New Paltz from all claims and liability relating to said documentary and photographs.

The filmmaker/photographer agrees to retain the integrity of the interviewee’s image and voice, neither misrepresenting the interviewee’s words nor taking them out of context.

I attest that I have voluntarily agreed to be interviewed and that this document contains the entire and complete agreement concerning the use and preservation of my interview.

Signature of Interviewee: _________________________ Date____________

Name (printed):_________________________________

Address: _____________________________________________________________

Telephone: _______________

Signature of First Interviewer: _________________________ Date____________

Name (printed):________________________________

Signature of Second Interviewer: ________________________________

Name (printed): ________________________________

AppleCoreComics.com

Leave a Reply

