Everything About “Unicorns: A Year On Religion In South Carolina” So Far

Someone added me on Twitter!  That’s impressive considering I haven’t tweeted in two years (if you don’t count random Conan tweets about winning a car).  Also the guy adding me is Chris Staros, the dude from Topshelf Comix (One of my favorite publishers).  I’m sure he’s adding people with the word ‘comics’ in their name but still, it’s a tad inspiring.  Add me on Twitter if you haven’t already.  I think there’s a link somewhere on this page.  I swear to the no-god that I’ll start tweeting again.

The first page with added crosshatching and more black space.  I recently got some harsh criticism on this, some of which I disagree with, but one main point I do agree with.  The characters are pretty stiff and uninteresting, including their facial expressions.  So I’m redoing this page and this next panel which I finished before deciding this.

I like the design of this panel so it’ll stay similar when I redo it.  I need to add more character to the buildings as well, make them more interesting.  Anyway, I got the name of the rabbi at the local synagogue who probably will be interested in helping me with this project.  So now I’ll be reading up on Judaism (I got “Judaism For Dummies” so far) and then I’ll contact this guy.  I also have a friend who (as far as I know) is interested in following Judaism.  I think it’s part of her heritage, but she has some problems with things about the religion, such as not accepting homosexuals (though the synagogue here is actually reformed Judaism, so they do accept homosexuals).

That’s about the size of it so far. 

Leave a Reply

